Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu is rapidly growing as one of the most popular martial arts in the world. Relative to the long, storied history of other martial arts such as Japanese Jujutsu, boxing, and wrestling, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, or BJJ as its commonly referred to, is fairly new to the scene. Nevertheless, despite its recent gain in prominence, BJJ has its own distinct history. BJJ was founded by the Gracie Family; they modified the traditional judo and Japanese jujutsu to form this art. The roots of this sports date back to the 1900s when Esai Maeda, who was a Japanese immigration colony chief working in Brazil taught Gracie’s son, Carlos, the martial art. The first Jiu Jitsu 스포츠토토 School was opened in 1925 by Carlos and his brothers and spread to the US in the early eighties. It has carved a niche due to its useful ground fighting skills. The art gives the smaller person a superior position. He/she can manipulate the joints of the opponent, choke, hold, and lock in self-defense. It is one of the best and most efficient ways of self-defense. Brazilian Jiu Jitsu is a martial art that focuses on grappling and fighting on the ground. Also called “the gentle art”, it is often considered to be one of the most effective styles of self-defense due to the fact that a smaller person is able to use leverage against a much larger opponent.

The Different Styles Of Brazilian jiu-jitsu

  1. Gracie Jiu Jitsu
    This is the style that was developed by the Renzo Gracie Academy in Brazil. It is considered to be one of the most effective and well-rounded styles of BJJ.
  2. Nova Uniao
    This style was developed by a group of Brazilian black belts who wished to create a more well-rounded style of BJJ.
  3. 10th Planet Jiu Jitsu
    This style was created by American black belt Eddie Bravo. It focuses on no-gi grappling and has become very popular in recent years.

The Belts In Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

In Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, students progress through a system of ranks (belt colors) and receive a corresponding colored belt to signify their level of skill.

The six levels in order are:

  1. White belt: signifying a beginner who has mastery of the very basics
  2. Blue belt: signifying a student who has mastered the basics and is now working on more advanced techniques
  3. Purple belt: signifying a student who has a good understanding of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and is starting to develop their own style
  4. Brown belt: signifying a student who is approaching black belt level and is considered an expert in the art
  5. Black belt: signifying a master of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu
  6. Red and black belt (also called “coral” belts): signifying a grandmaster of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

26 thoughts on “Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

  1. прихожая для маленького коридора купить в москве ростов на дону

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.